Aggro Extension Example

Tonight, I was hunting down mission runners in Lustrevik.  I had given a family member 10Million ISK and needed to make that back.  I soon found a Thrasher kiting a lot of rats.

I started stealing, and he shot at my Slasher.  I warped away, just barely making it out in time.   (The price of the slasher aside, the utility of it is well worth getting my ass out of there instead of dodging.  At least, lately.)

I returned in the Brutix, ready to just smash his face in but he warped away when he saw my ugly mug arrive.  I killed a couple of his rats, and before I warped off I extended aggro by shooting a wreck.  It went from 8 minutes left to 15.

Then, I warped off to my station, changed ships for my Rifter, checked to see if he was docked (no) and then undocked.  I popped around from station to station, just toying and playing with d-scan. (Something I need to do.)  The session changes confirmed that I still had the aggression.

When the timer got down to 7 or 8 minutes again, I warped back and shot another wreck while dodging rats.

At some point I made a bookmark just under 1AU away so I could watch the scene.  Also, at some point I received payment for my rat killing. Real honest ISK!

It was after the third or fourth extension that I told him via chat and mail that I was “done” with his mission and he could return.  He returned and I watched him arrive.  I warped to the scene, to find him 100km away.  Crap.  Shit.  I’m in a Rifter fit with an AB though.  I burned and overheated toward him.  Almost straight toward him and then I remembered I wanted to practice keeping my transversal high.  So I started that technique, and then soon had him scrammed and webbed.

My autocannons were hitting him pretty fast, though the range on those is close.  A ship scan from first aggro from him (when he shot my slasher), showed he had medium range and short range runs on the boat.    My camera was still watching him, expecting him to align to something “favorite” of his.  So when I did the trick to keep transversal up again, I actually was clicking off to an unknown area of space and soon he was 10km from me again.

Shit.

So I corrected that, started orbiting at 750m again and soon he went boom.   That said, I only did 30% of the damage.  The rats did the other.  I think I need to fit T2 weapons on the Rifter if I really want to hit with it, and on top of that pay attention to where I click.

I did notice, when I returned to watch for his return – that his capsule was within dscan. (set at 50,000,000 km)  So this means he must have ragelogged, and then his capsule warped off randomly.

Yay!

Leave a Reply

