Comments on Mynxee and some salvage

I was able to get a bit of salvage done, and purchased Gallente Battleships to start training; the salvage and loot stolen about equals the cost of the book.  So that was a good thing.

A quote from Mynxee’s recent post on the CSM strikes me as so similar to where I work now that it is scary.

Listening to devs and others describe the development process; the realities of resource assignment to various projects already in the pipeline; and the apparently common, wasteful, and apathy-inspiring “do-over” and “change horses midstream” exec mentality left me wondering how CCP gets anything done at all. I found myself wondering what would happen if resources could be focused more tightly. Apocrypha is a good example of an expansion that was extremely successful from the outset. Guess what? It got high focus. Considering the problems inherent in recent expansions and patches, I’d say the proof is in the pudding that a sea change regarding commitment is needed at all levels within CCP. A good start to demonstrating that CCP is committed to players would be to address some key CSM backlogged issues.

We change gears a lot here, where I work.  Issues come up from area A and from area B almost at the same time, and they have little to do with each other, except in some cases they both are via similar languages. (Perl or Java or straight stored procedures in Sybase)  Management tends to lament over the need for the next-big-fix or next big thing to save us; when the reality is that those lamentations hurt moral, because we know it won’t happen, or happen so slowly it won’t have any time to be given any real commitment anyway.

Do I have a solution for it, where I work?  Not really, no.  I enjoy where I work, though I get frustrated and bummed about the lack of direction, or stable direction.  Will it get to me eventually?  Maybe.

It’s more likely that I will get pissed off at EVE for a lack of direction at the programmer/project level than I will work;  EVE is, after all, an escape from the real-world and a game.  The more its bureaucracy reminds me of work, the less I will enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

